Mariana Tafur

Name: My name is Mariana Tafur

Where are you from?

I am from Bogota, the capital of Colombia, which have around 9 million people and a all-year-long 50F-70F weather.

What got you interested in engineering education?

I studied electronic engineering and a masters in education. On 2004 I joined Los Andes University where I taught engineering freshmen class at the same time I trained elementary science teachers. Two years later I switched to the education school, were I taught Learning Environments Through History and Virtual Learning Environment Moderation. As you may notice, the link between engineering and education always were there.

Since 2004 I started to search PhD programs with this “rare” emphasis… couple of years later my undergrad advisor, and boss during those days, told me about the existence of the Purdue Engineering Education program… and here I am.

What are some activities you do for fun?

I like to do sports (volleyball, tennis, pingpong, golf… you name it!), play cards and board games, learn from other cultures and languages, and hang out and talk!

What do you like about the ENE community?

One of the things I like the most about ENE community is the support it offers to any one who asks for it! we are a highly diverse and cooperative community, conscious of the difference which makes important part of our identity.

Leave a Reply

